Unfinished is just another way of seeing perpetual.

Does anyone not have unfinished ‘business’ of some kind? Who doesn’t have so many ideas of things to do, places to go, projects, books to read, movies to see, chores, dreams? You know who I really admire? The people who are self-motivated and disciplined, the people who get up early in the day and tackle what needs to be done, the people who stick to a schedule or ‘to do’ list until, one at a time, each project is completed. They are driven and organized. Sure, they probably also, at the end of the day, month, year or lifetime, can still stay that they wish they had “gotten to..” this or that but I’ll be their list is short in comparison to most of us (procrastinators). To be fair to those who are artistically inclined, those who have more ideas than hours in a lifetime to bring to fruition, procrastination might not be an issue as much as an over-abundance of passion (is there such a thing?).

I’m a plodder and I also am a dreamer of dreams/ideas. I have projects to numerous to count that are unfinished and that does not take into consideration the ‘chores’ (as I call things that need to be done that I don’t want to do) that are pushed to the absolute last possible minute or forever remain, to my disgust, ‘undone’. I also have things I want to ‘say’ to my children but I am waiting for “the right time”, I have unfinished business with my mother, I have my ongoing-self-analysis/therapy-self-improvement because I am an unfinished project myself.

On one hand, having all this unfinished stuff gives me plenty to work on. On the other hand, it feels over-whelming sometimes.

Daily Prompt: Unfinished

4 thoughts on “Unfinished is just another way of seeing perpetual.

  1. The graveyard is full of unfinished business. You never get to do everything you want to get done. I think the trick is to focus and get the important things done, and then really relax once you take some time off, not worrying about the small details.

    Like

Leave a Reply

